skip to primary navigationskip to content

Wellcome Trust - Medical Research Council

Cambridge Stem Cell Institute

Studying at Cambridge



Senior Advisory Committee

The SAC is made up of all professorial members of the Institute, and is responsible for strategy, space and allocation of resources.

International Scientific Advisory Board

The ISAB consists of distinguished stem cell researchers who provide expert evaluation and advice through annual visits and reports.

Governance Committee

This is made up of senior members of the University who meet annually, providing oversight and alignment with University strategy and resources.

Operational Committees

There are a number of CSCI wide committees that currently meet, including:

  • Public Engagement
  • Post Doctoral
  • PhD Programme Advisory Committee 

At the moment, day to day management of the CSCI is undertaken by various management committees based in the six CSCI locations. As we approach Capella, a single CSCI Management Committee will be formed. This Committee will oversee all CSCI committees including those above as well as:

  • Facilities
  • IT
  • Health & Safety
  • Equality & Diversity

Working Groups

We have established multiple Working Groups to plan for life in Capella. Each meets regularly and provides written reports to the Senior Advisory Committee (SAC).

Biofacility Working Group

Chair: Austin Smith

Members: Arthur Kazer, Steph Hall, Tina Hamilton, Simon Mendez-Ferrer, Bill Mansfield, Jenny Nichols, David Rowitch, Kourosh Saeb-Parsy, Chao Zhao, Louise Balshaw

Clinician Scientist Recruitment and Development Working Group

Chair: Andrew McCaskie

Members: Roger Barker, Simon Buczacki, Brian Huntly, David Rowitch

Computing and Bioinformatics Working Group

Chair: Bertie Göttgens 

Members: Paul Bertone, Sabine Dietmann, Daniel Hodson, Thora Karadottir, Sanjay Sinha, Mark Sharpley

Flow Cytometry Working Group

Chair: Bertie Göttgens 

Members: Cedric Ghevaert, David Kent, Joo-Hyeon Lee, Andy Riddell, Sanjay Sinha, Jose Silva, Louise Balshaw

Imaging Working Group

Chair: Robin Franklin

Members: Kevin Chalut, Peter Humphreys, Thora Karadottir, Simon Mendez-Ferrer, Louise Balshaw

Cell Culture Working Group

Chair: Ludovic Vallier 

Members: Robin Franklin, Cedric Ghevaert, Steph Hall, Brian Huntly, Elisa Laurenti, Sally Lees, Stefano Pluchino, Jose Silva, Austin Smith,  Louise Balshaw, 

Website Working Group

Chair: Bon-kyoung Koo

Members: Elisa Laurenti, Mark Sharpley, Gill Currie, Louise Balshaw