skip to primary navigationskip to content

Cambridge Stem Cell Scientists elected as EMBO Members

last modified Aug 06, 2020 12:08 PM

Three Cambridge Stem Cell Scientists, Prof Ben Simons, Dr Michaela Frye and Dr Peter Campbell, have this week been elected as members of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO), joining a group of more than 1800 of the best researchers in Europe and around the world.

“EMBO Members are leading scientists working across all of the life sciences. They also strengthen the research community in Europe and beyond through their international collaborations and connections,” says EMBO Director Maria Leptin.

Prof Ben Simons

Prof Simons’ lab uses concepts from non-equilibrium statistical physics and mathematics to address the fate behaviour of stem and progenitor cells in the development, maintenance and regeneration of tissues and factors leading to their dysregulation in diseased states.

Dr Michaela Frye

Dr Frye’s group focuses on the identification and characterization of post-transcriptional modifications that regulate the maintenance of adult stem cells. They further explore whether modulation of RNA-methylation pathways can help to protect from human diseases such as cancer.

Dr Peter Campbell

Dr Campbell’s research programme investigates the genetic changes that cells acquire as we go through life, and how these mutations are related to ageing, cancer and other disease processes. 

The members are actively involved in the execution of the organization’s initiatives by serving on EMBO Council, Committees and Editorial Boards, by evaluating applications for EMBO funding, by mentoring young scientists and by providing suggestions and feedback on activities.

The new EMBO Members and Associate Members will be formally welcomed at the Members’ Meeting in Heidelberg between 24 and 26 October 2018.

An online directory with all existing and new EMBO Members is available at

Selected statistics about EMBO’s 2018 intake

  • newly elected members reside in 24 countries
  • 22 new members (35.5%) are women
  • average age of newly elected members: 50.7 years